Awards Received
Awards Named in Lowell Thomas' Honor

Back To 
Lowell Thomas


Lowell Thomas Awards

Lists are in chronological order. If you know of additional awards, please send me an email message at and they will be added to the list!

Awards Received

Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Award - 1945
National Father of the Year (several winners) - Father's Day/Mother's Day Council Inc. - 1954
Sons of the American Revolution Chauncey M. Depew Medal - 1964
National Association of BroadcastersDistinguished Service Award - 1968 and Broadcasting Hall of Fame - 1977
International Radio & Television Society Foundation, Inc. Personality of the Year Award - 1968
The Horatio Alger Association Award - 1970
The American Legion National Commander's Public Relations Award - 1972
George Foster Peabody Award - 1973
Carbon Mike Award (now called "Art Gilmore Career Achievement Award") - Pacific Pioneer Broadcasters - March 1976
Presidential Medal of Freedom - 1977
Freedoms Foundation George Washington Honor Medal - 1978
Dutch Treat Club Gold Medal for lifetime achievement - 1979
Radio Hall of Fame - 1989
National Aviation Hall of Fame - 1992

Back to page top

Awards Named in Lowell Thomas' Honor

Lowell Thomas Award - The Explorers Club of New York.
Lowell Thomas Award for Broadcast Journalism - Marist College.
Lowell Thomas Award - Best radio news or interpretation of international affairs - The Overseas Press Club of America. 2011 Award Presentation. 2010 Award Presentation.
Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Award - Society of American Travel Writers - 2010 Award Winners.

Back to page top

This page has been viewed Counters times since March 18, 2008.
Dell Laptop Computer

Version 1.2  W.A. Haugen
Last Modified: December 13, 2013.
Origination date of page February 11, 2007.
Back To Lowell Thomas
If you have comments or suggestions, email me at